Weapons Carry License Info
Hours: Mon - Fri, 8:00 a.m.- 3:30 p.m.Cobb County Probate Court
32 Waddell StreetMarietta, GA 30090
Obtaining a weapons carry license in Cobb County
In order to obtain a weapons carry license in Georgia, you are required to be photographed, fingerprinted, and must undergo a criminal background investigation by the GBI and FBI; and
Upon the receipt of the background investigations, if there is nothing to prohibit the issuance of your license, we will issue your license to you. The background investigations may take as long as one month. The license is valid for five years.
Applicants must bring the following items to the Probate Court:
Current identification with current Cobb County address; (P.O. boxes are not accepted);
The fee to apply is $79.25 (cash/credit/debit/money order) for the license, fingerprinting, criminal background check, and mental health records check;
Please note, there will be a $2.50 service fee assessed to any credit/debit card transaction. This service fee goes directly to LexisNexis VitalChek Network, Inc.; Probate Court’s payment processing vendor.
You must provide the court with a self-addressed stamped envelope when applying for the license if you wish to have the license mailed to you; and
If you are not a U.S. citizen, you must show proof of your lawful presence in the U.S. and proof of residency in the state of Georgia for 90 days. Federal laws require that immigrants and non-immigrants reside continuously in their current status in the state for 90 days. The 90 days is determined by the date of entry on the ICE background check.
Applicants for replacement license
If your license is lost, damaged, or stolen, you may obtain a replacement. The cost is $6. If your license is damaged, you should bring it with you.
Eligibility for obtaining a Weapons Carry License:
Please refer to O.C.G.A. §16-11-129
All fees are non-refundable.
If you have any further questions, please call 770-528-1931.
Important NoticeThe Probate Court Judge, Clerk, and staff are committed to providing you with excellent customer service. We will be happy to assist you with any questions or concerns that you may have about Probate Court services or procedures. Please be advised, however, that state law prohibits our staff from rendering legal advice, restating the law, or recommending specific ways to pursue legal action. Nothing on this web site is intended to advise anyone regarding legal remedies for a particular circumstance.
Many matters of law are quite complex and may require special knowledge of legal principles and procedures. If you have a problem involving the interpretation of the law, we suggest you contact an attorney licensed in the State of Georgia. Although we cannot recommend a specific attorney, you may contact the Cobb County Attorney Referral Service at (770) 424-7149.